Use visibility settings to control when clips and playlists in Omny Studio are available to your audiences. Use these settings while preparing a release, publishing new episodes, removing older content from public access, sharing members-only content, or planning release changes in advance.
You can make content public, keep it private, restrict it to authorized members, and schedule visibility changes so episodes are released or hidden at the right time. You can change visibility immediately or schedule changes for future dates.
Also see:
Clip Visibility
A clip’s visibility controls whether listeners can access it.
Examples:
Set a newly uploaded episode to Private while your team reviews it. When the episode is ready, change it to Public or schedule it to become public at the release time.
Set bonus content to Restricted so that only subscribed or authorized members should have access.
Clip visibility | Description |
|---|---|
Private | Not publicly visible or accessible by your audiences. You and other Omny users who have permission may see and edit the clip. A Private clip cannot be added to a playlist, but can be scheduled. |
Unlisted | Not publicly viewable or indexed by search engines, but shareable via Omny FM link, embeddable, and appears in a playlist’s RSS feed. All audience members may access the clip directly if they have the link. |
Public | Accessible via Omny FM link, indexed by search engines, embeddable, and appears in a playlist’s RSS feed. All audience members may access the clip directly if they have the link. |
Restricted | Only accessible to restricted members. Not visible or accessible by anyone else. This is an optional feature. For details, see Restricted Content Access. |
Playlist Visibility
A playlist’s visibility controls whether audiences can access it. A playlist’s visibility does not affect the visibility of the clips that it contains.
Examples:
Only audience members with authorization can see the Restricted clips in a Public playlist.
A Public playlist does not show a Private clip to audience members.
Audience members can access an individual Public clip directly even if it’s in a Private playlist.
Playlist visibility | Description |
|---|---|
Private | Not publicly visible or accessible by your audiences. You and other Omny users who have permission may see and edit the playlist. |
Public | Accessible via Omny FM link, indexed by search engines, and embeddable. All audience members may access the playlist. |
Restricted | Only accessible to restricted members. Not visible or accessible by anyone else. This is an optional feature. For details, see Restricted Content Access. |
Change Visibility Immediately
You can change the visibility of a clip or playlist immediately. This example shows how to change a clip’s visibility but the steps are the same for playlists.

Go to the clip or playlist. See Find Items.
Select the Details tab.
Do one of these:
Clip: Scroll down to Publishing > Current visibility and choose the visibility.
Playlist: In Publishing, choose the visibility.
Select Save changes.
Schedule a Change in a Clip’s Visibility
You can schedule a clip’s visibility to change at a future date and time. You cannot schedule a change to a playlist’s visibility.
You can create multiple changes for the same clip. Scheduled changes are useful for early access, release dates, temporary promotions, or planned takedowns.
You can see all scheduled changes for your clips, programs, and organization. For details, see Scheduled Clips Report.
Published dates and playlist order
When you schedule a change, you can optionally enable Update published date. This ensures that episodes are ordered so that the latest release appears to your audiences in a timely and strategic manner. The published date is simply a date label that Omny uses to order the clips in your playlist, it does not affect the actual publication date of the clip.
Examples:
Schedule an episode to change from Private to Public at 6:00 AM on the release date.
Schedule a promotional clip to become Public on Monday and return to Private on Friday after the promotion ends.
For early-access audience members, schedule a change from Private to Restricted, then schedule a later change from Restricted to Public.

Go to the clip. See Find Items.
Select the Details tab.
Scroll down to Publishing > Scheduled visibility changes and select + Add scheduled change.
Select the visibility status, date, and time.
Optional: To update the clip’s date to the scheduled change, check Update published date.
Select Add scheduled change.
Select Save changes.
Edit and Delete Scheduled Changes
You can update or remove a clip’s scheduled visibility change before it takes effect.
Go to the clip. See Find Items.
Select the Details tab.
Scroll down to Publishing > Scheduled visibility changes.
In the scheduled item’s options menu, choose Edit scheduled change or Delete scheduled change.
If you are editing, make your changes then select Add scheduled change.
Select Save changes.